Skip to content

Snowy Pillow

January 15, 2011

 

Is there an expression for sewing folks, that is equivalent to the one about eating – “her eyes were bigger than her stomach”?  If there is, it would really fit me.  How many projects do I think I can get through in my life???  I bought the pattern and floss to make a Crabapple Hill quilt called 263 Days of Snow.  It is beeeeyutiful.  Anyway, I realized that as big a commitment to time as that would be to stitch, I’d better discover whether or not I could actually see myself following through before I bought all the fabric too.  So I stitched up one panel and it turned out pretty nicely.  I used a similar floss to the variegated one that would be used in the real quilt. 

So – my sample became a great start for a pillow.  I had the fabric used for the backing and flange and had to buy a bit of trim.  Since it came out to a funny (non-standard) pillow size, I made a simple case of left-over batting and then stuffed that with polyfill to make a custom pillow. 

It is snowy and fun to look at.  Have I decided to make the whole quilt yet?  Uh… nope 🙂

This will be my entry for the Pillow Party

Blogger's Pillow Party
3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 8, 2011 1:41 pm

    Pretty pillow! Glad you enjoyed the Homes and Garden recipe book pics

  2. September 12, 2011 7:37 pm

    Love your pillow . . . great idea for me to consider with my orphan blocks . . .not orphaned because they weren’t a favorite, but orphaned because I can’t finish all the quilts I start. Time to get them out and into something. This is a great idea! Really enjoy your blog. Thanks for stopping by mine!

    • September 12, 2011 10:10 pm

      Laura I believe that is the best option for you since you’re not a WordPress person. I should know this though! If I find out differently I’ll let you know. Thanks so much!

Leave a Reply

