Skip to content

Charming Four Patch Coasters Tutorial

July 19, 2011

Charming Coasters

One of my favorite morning routines is to check in on some fun quilting sites and blogs.  I always visit the Moda Bake Shop.  Lately I’ve been thinking of how much I appreciate the fantastic tutorials there, and today when I was making a little project, I decided to take pictures along the way.  I put together a tutorial and have submitted it to the site to see if I can be a Moda baker too!

Here Charming Four Patch Coasters is my STEP – BY – STEP tutorial in pdf format. 

The project is for some coasters made with charms.  It is fun, fast and they are so great to have! Bye the way, this is my first tutorial.  If you liked it, will you leave a comment? Thanks!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Linda L. permalink
    October 27, 2013 7:31 am

    I love the pattern – it’s so easy and looks perfect for a beginner since it gives a quick result with a very practical ‘product’.

    My only quibble is that the process for getting it turned inside out wasn’t very clear. My instinct rejected sewing all the way around the square – I wanted to leave a part open for turning. It took several rounds of reading the pattern and looking at the pictures to realize that the top pieces aren’t sewn other than at the outside edge which means you can turn it through the centre of the top.

    I haven’t made it yet but I wonder if those unsewn edges on the top wouldn’t catch on things (spoons, fingers) possibly ending up with a knocked-over cup.

  2. October 27, 2013 7:34 am

    Hi Linda,
    It doesn’t seem very intuitive, but I promise it works perfectly, and no catching- they end up really flat. There are no exposed raw edges anywhere. I’ve used several sets for years, and they are just about the best coasters ever 🙂 Thanks for stopping by and for your great question!

Leave a Reply

