Skip to content

At Last!

August 23, 2011

I’ve got a sewing room! 

This week I turned my recently-married-daughter’s room into a sewing room.  I had to wipe away a lot of tears as the whole exercise was bittersweet.  I love her and miss having her at home.  But she’s as happy as a clam with her new husband, and now I have a sewing room!  I’m just like a pig in a mud puddle about that!!!  Here is the happy couple and my room.  My joy and my sadness…

I know I’ll have a lot of tweaking to do, but what a luxury to have a space to spread out.  Before this I had a corner of the bedroom that I used.  My sweet husband claims he actually enjoyed seeing all the color, etc.

My first project in this room is another Moda Bake Shop beauty called Cartwheels Quilt http://www.modabakeshop.com/2011/08/cartwheels-quilt.html#more

I’m using the Strawberry Fields fabric by Fig Tree just as they have done in the pattern.  I’ve seen a lot of patterns for this fabric line but this is the best!  Obviously it is a super easy pattern and so is coming together lickety split.  Blocks are done – will be putting the top together today.  There is no border used in this pattern, but I’m contemplating adding one.  I’m just doing a huge happy dance right now! 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Hope you enjoy this site if you get here by visiting the  Small Blogg Meet at Lily’s Quilts!

Small Blog Meet
8 Comments leave one →
  1. carol schoenfelder permalink
    August 23, 2011 7:21 pm

    Congratulations on your sewing room. That is exciting. I worked all weekend in mine. Your pictures are wonderful. Congrats on Amelia’s wedding. The pictures were just awesome. You are such a talent! I would love to get together with you. I work in Bellevue now, for a year and half…Clinical Director of a Retina Surgery Center that I put together. It is fun! Take care and keep listing picts of your projects. carol

  2. September 3, 2011 5:31 am

    I’ve come from Lily’s Quilts! I’m a new blogger as well and happy to have found you 🙂
    I love your quilts and I too do the happy dance!

  3. Sandie permalink
    September 3, 2011 9:04 am

    Hey Lettyb– Found you off of Lily’s blog. I really like rework. I just don’t know how to. One day. Sandie

  4. September 12, 2011 7:41 pm

    Hi! It’s Laura again, found you from Lily’s and your comment on my blog. I’m a blogger novice, so when I went to joint your site, I only saw the email area. Is that my only option since I’m a blogspot girl and not a wordpress girl?

    • September 12, 2011 10:16 pm

      Laura I believe that is the best option for you since you’re not a WordPress person. I should know this though! If I find out differently I’ll let you know. Thanks so much!

  5. October 12, 2011 7:25 pm

    I love the looks of your sewing room! The only thing left to do is get the curtains hung up and then it will be complete. Had to put my fabric in a dresser in another room until I can come up with something in the sewing room.

Leave a Reply

