Skip to content

Cramming it In

September 7, 2011
Owly Doorstop

Owly Doorstop

Cramming it In…
It’s nearly the end of my summer vacation so I’m cramming in all the fun sewing I can possibly manage.  I’ve made quilts, table toppers, door stops, coasters, and more lately.  The process is so therapeutic, especially now that I can go into the sanctuary of my sewing room and get ‘in the zone’.  I listen to a book on CD from the library and just… create!
Naturally there are parts of the process that I don’t love as much as others.  Pin basting is certainly one.  I can’t do this in my sewing room since there isn’t enough floor space.  So I move furniture in the family room and crawl around in there.  It is back breaking but necessary. 

Cartwheels Quilt and Pillow

The Cartwheels quilt needed some fun quilting and a cozy look, so I used just a simple curved stitch on my machine.  I think it looks terrific. 
Today after I changed my bobbin thread I didn’t get something quite in the right place and now, despite hours of fiddling around to see what the problem is, I have a troublesome clanking coming from my Bernina.  Really, I have to spend the last few days of my vacation without a machine???   What the heck!?  Probably just as well, my beloved machine needs its annual tune-up anyway and the weather is gorgeous and this will force me to get out and enjoy it.

Happy September everyone!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 7, 2011 11:46 pm

    That quilt is terrific! I love it 🙂 That owl doorstop is adorable too!
    I’m very jealous of the lovely weather you’re having, it’s all grey and raining here 😦
    Secretly (or not so secretly!) I love rain but it’s a bit depressing today.
    Hope you get your machine fixed soon!
    Happy September to you 🙂
    xx

  2. Jean permalink
    September 14, 2011 6:32 am

    where could I get the pattern for the little bird quilt?

  3. October 3, 2011 1:35 am

    I love that cartwheels quilt. The first quilt blog I looked into when I was starting was crazymomquilts–I have that pattern printed and ready to make! Your work looks fantastic. I popped over from the small blog meet, and if I can figure it out, I’m going to follow you. Looks like you have some great stuff going on!

    • October 3, 2011 5:01 am

      Thank you! I love your blog too. Tried to leave a comment and couldn’t. A frequent probelm for me lately – very frustrating. Thanks for checking in!

Leave a Reply

