Skip to content

Can’t Bear to Part…

October 2, 2011

… with my sewing machine. Yes, it is still making a funny noise, and I KNOW I have to take it in for servicing, but the problem is, I just can’t go a day without wanting to sew something. Despite the noise it is actually working nicely! So it is very hard to make myself take it in to the sewing machine hospital. I made my first Moose on the Porch star block last night.

Here is the fabric I pulled from my stash to use for that project.

And also presenting… my first block of the Blogger’s BOM from Canton Village Quilts too.  The colors are soft and muted, almost Japanese feeling.  I love them!  I’m also totally pleased to have both my October BOMs done  🙂Fresh Sewing Day
Small Blog Meet
 

Quilting Gallery Logo

17 Comments leave one →
  1. October 2, 2011 9:55 pm

    Hi there. I came over from Lily’s. Your blog looks very fresh and fun. I will be back

    • October 3, 2011 4:50 am

      Thanks Carla! I tried to leave a comment on your blog and, gosh darn it – I can’t seem to. I’m having this issue a lot lately 😦 Love your blog though!

  2. October 2, 2011 10:16 pm

    I happy to meet you! I’m here via Lynne’s (Lily’s) blog! I empathize with you on not wanting to take your machine in for repair. I’ve been thinking that I need to take mine in for a general tune-up BUT I hate the thought of not having it here for 10-14 days. I don’t know what I’d do for that long! I guess this is the reason that some quilters have an extra machine.

    I’ve enjoyed looking at your beautiful quilts. I hope you’ll stop by my blog for a visit some day!

  3. October 2, 2011 11:29 pm

    I hear you on the sewing machine. Though did learn my lesson when I ignored the funny sound until the night before a deadline and it stopped working!!! Now I figure out some handwork to keep me going until my machine is back.

    I love the fabrics you’ve pulled for your project.

    • October 3, 2011 2:14 am

      I do have some embroidery to do – thanks for the reminder and for following along!
      Thanks everyone for the comments. I’ve got a problem posting to some blogs lately – something to do with cookie filtering. I’m visiting your blogs, but may not be able to leave a comment!

  4. Catherine permalink
    October 3, 2011 12:42 am

    Hi there, found you through Lilys quilts. I love your star block, its so neat. And your birdie quilt is sooo cute

  5. October 3, 2011 3:34 am

    Visiting from Lily’s Quilts. I love your Owl quilt. And the star block is beautiful! Can’t wait to see all the BOMs!

  6. October 3, 2011 5:36 am

    Hi Letty – Nice meeting you through the Small blog Meet. I’m joining up this month as I try to become a more active blogger! I also joined Lily’s Quilt Star quilt a long and am still pulling together my palette. Your colors are great, is that some orange I see in the stack?? I’ll be watching for your next block!

    • December 29, 2011 4:16 pm

      Hey there Elizabeth. How are you doing on your BOMs?

  7. October 3, 2011 3:12 pm

    Oh I’m the same, I can’t bear to be apart from my machine, am looking for a back-up machine so I can carry on while my machine is away for servicing, but I love my machine so much nothing else compares……..love your star block and found you through the small blog meet 🙂

    • October 9, 2011 9:09 am

      My machine is back in about 4 more days…seems like forever already! 🙂

  8. October 3, 2011 9:10 pm

    Another visitor from Lily’s Fresh Sewing Day! Great job on the blocks! I also LOVE your cartwheel quilt, but I think I am a little partial to the Strawberry Fields fabric, since I just finished my first quilt with it. 🙂 I will be adding you to my RSS and look forward to more wonderful projects!

  9. October 8, 2011 5:39 pm

    Came over from small blogs….love your site….love the embroidered quilt…headed over to Crabapple Hill to check it out.

  10. October 12, 2011 11:22 pm

    Hello! Love that block and the colors. I’m dealing with the same thing with my machine….I know it needs to go in, but it’s working ok and I can’t part with it just yet.

    I found your blog via the Quilting Gallery blog-finder 🙂

    • October 13, 2011 12:32 am

      I’m wishing I had taken mine on a regular schedule – they scolded me about it needing an internal oil pack that I could not get any other way… Berninas are fussy, but great. I’ve had my machine about 8? years, and love it.

Leave a Reply

