Skip to content

The Happy in my Dance

November 12, 2011

 

The Happy in my Dance

Every day I try to get a little sewing in.  I’m a busy person as most of you probably are.  I have  a job (thank you Lord), a family, and other responsibilities, but what really puts the happy in my dance is quilting and sewing projects.  I have found it the most therapeutic time in my day.  It never fails to make me feel happy and peaceful to work with some pretty fabric.

I bought the kit for Summer Holidays from the Summer Gatherings book a few weeks ago on my way back from a business trip.  Each of the blocks for it has over 100 patches, and it is one of those quilts where one has to get in the assembly-line zone to get it done.  There is something therapeutic in that too.  Since the quilt is scrappy – using many different fat quarters for both the focus and background fabrics, I’m making one block at a time.  They’re taking me almost 2 hours each to cut and piece.  The first one took a lot longer, and now I’m in a groove with it and not only is it going a bit faster, but I’m getting down some tricks for accuracy.  Twenty hourglass mini blocks within the big one.

As a great treat and break from the assembly line, I’m continuing with my two Block of the Month projects.  My latest Fat Quarter Star Block is quite pretty if I do say so myself!  The Flickr group is such a boon because it allows me to go and see a few before I start mine and this helps to decide on color and value placement. 

If you’re reading this blog you must get the happy put into your dance by quilting too.  What else does it for you?  Leave a comment telling me.  No giveaway, but just for fun. 

-Letty

P. S. Did you spot my little needle bag?  It is a larger verson of the Pink Penguin pattern here.

P.S.S. Here is a brilliant Thanksgiving sewing project!!!

P.S.S. More Happy for Your Dance

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 12, 2011 10:19 pm

    Love your new Star QAL block – the colors are great. Thanks for reference to all the fun tutorials also! Wishing you a happy dance weekend lettyb!!

  2. November 16, 2011 3:16 am

    I love that basket! Great block too 🙂
    I watched the video and then the making of, wow!! I thought it can’t be real but imagine ALL those jellybeans!! hahahaha, it made me smile!

Leave a Reply

