Skip to content

Cat? Dog? Bear?

November 25, 2011

I’ve always wanted to try my hand at needle felting a wool animal.  After a visit to the fabulous Puyallup Quilting and Crafting Expo, last weekend, I got to try!  I’ll be the first to admit that my creature didn’t come out the way I was envisioning it.  Truth be told, it is supposed to be a kitty.  Ah well the cuteness of this little thing is totally satisfying anyway.

By the way, check out the wonderful blog: The Homemade Goodness. Calley made the napkin project found at The Purl Bee and linked to them on  her blog, and that is how I found it.  I love the relatively plain exterior and the very exciting interior.  They have a lovely weight too.  I found both the linen and cotton for these at JoAnn’s.  Speaking of JoAnn’s, can you believe how great their Christmas theme is this year.  It looks Norwegian to me- and I love it!  I had to buy a lot when it was 40% off. 

I’m ready to piece the top on my Summer Gatherings quilt – all blocks are assembled.  I’m also going to work hard today and see if I can get some free time to do my QALs.  I had a lovely Thanksgiving and I hope you did too.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Fresh Sewing Day
6 Comments leave one →
  1. Patrick H Cancilla permalink
    November 26, 2011 5:38 am

    Fantastic blog spot – oh and a second Catdogbear would do well as a stocking stuffer for your gal pal Pammy.
    Hope to see you soon!
    PC

  2. November 26, 2011 9:51 am

    Your lil kitty is cute just keep going it took me awhile but you do get better. Watch the finger pokes!!!! Dawn Shaffett

  3. December 8, 2011 12:39 am

    White tiger cub definitely. Nice ‘studio’ :-). Came over from Lily’s quilts.

  4. December 8, 2011 1:11 am

    Wandered over from Lily’s Quilts. Love your placemats!! I have always been afraid to use linen. Do you have any words of advice? Lots of spray starch?

    • December 8, 2011 1:38 am

      Ha, they are actually napkins. But I know what you mean. No starch. I prewashed the fabrics before making them and felt quite confident – but I’ve not used them, and I’m thinking it is because I’m worried about stains. I guess I’ll have to bite the bullet and just go for it!

  5. December 8, 2011 11:08 pm

    I’m visiting from Lily’s Quilts. Your cat reminds me of a stuffed kitty I adored as a child and still have. She is kind of lion cub-ish I think. Lovely blog you have here!

Leave a Reply

