Skip to content

My Eight Needle Quilt

January 15, 2012

My Eight Needle Quilt

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I like to name my quilts even if I never put a label on them. This quilt had two strong contenders for its name. I ended up with my Eight Needle Quilt because that is how many needles broke during my quilting on it! Don’t ask me why… I’ve quilted much bigger, heavier, more intricate quilts on the same machine, and I just cannot for the life of me figure out why this one was so darned hard to do. The other name I considered was my Perseverance Quilt. It really nearly didn’t get finished at all.

Yesterday as I wrestled with the beast, I broke yet another needle and felt so discouraged and cross I just folded it up, stuck it in a closet, and changed all my machine settings back to normal (from the free motion settings I was using). But after a cup of tea and the very real picture in my head of that quilt remaining in the closet until it was dusty and thoroughly hated was in my head.

I thought “hang it! I’m going to finish it if it kills me, and no matter how badly it turns out.” So, down went my feed-dogs, tension, pressure, stitch length… back on went the invisible thread. (No, I don’t think it was about the thread, I used the same spool to do a big quilt before.) I went slowly, did some sailor talking to the thing… and finished.

After washing it, I don’t even think it looks too bad. Even if I hated the quilt, I beat the problem by persevering. So, that would have been a good name for it too. Perhaps a hybrid name is called for… My Eight Needle Perseverance Quilt.

-Letty

P.S. Happy Quilting (if you can manage it) and check out my cool helper. These little office supply clips come with a waxy substance on the back. Stick them anywhere and they can hold up a pattern or an inspiration picture like mine!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 15, 2012 11:04 am

    Well you are right, Letty, “Perseverance Paid Off” because the quilt turned out beautiful. thanks for sharing!

  2. January 16, 2012 6:58 am

    Thank you Ida – feels good. 😉

  3. January 18, 2012 8:25 am

    Fantastic finish! Can’t believe you went through that many needles, I would have given up after two! Your sewing space is so cute and neat! 🙂

    • January 18, 2012 8:50 am

      Thanks Lucy. I love that you’re keeping up with me. I may make myself one of those cute sewing travel kits today. Yours are sooo cute!

    • January 27, 2012 8:49 am

      Thanks Lucy. Funny thing is that I’m fmq-ing one now that is going along smooth as butter. Go figure!

  4. January 27, 2012 8:25 am

    Thank you for joining Just Us Quilters.
    Would you kindly add the JUQ button to your blog-a requirement for the listing. Thanks! Grab the HTML now.

Leave a Reply

