Skip to content

Boardwalk Quilt

April 25, 2012

If this quilt ever gets a label it will be called Laura and I go under the Boardwalk. A few times, just for kicks, as little girls my best friend Laura T and I would go down to the shopping area in town called The Boardwalk. The shopping area still exists much the same today. Little, often posh shops thatBoardwalk Quilt are the cozy, upscale version of a strip mall. On one end was Embee’s the grocery, and on the other the pharmacy and bank. A courtyard lead to Neville’s cafe where they had the best burgers ever.

Well actually we went to the Boardwalk all the time! But these few times we went UNDER the boardwalk. It was amazing how many coins people would drop through the large slots between the big wooden boards while walking between the shops. We would scurry under (in our secret access spot), and then crawl around and find our treasure. Ugh, when I think of it now, the dirt, the…rodents?, and who knows what else… wow – I was a different person then. Now I’m very persnickety about dirt. Anyway, Laura and I had such fun together, and these random treasure hunts were something I remember fondly. So as I worked on my Fig Tree Boardwalk quilt, with California Girl fabrics, I couldn’t help think of those days…

Also showing my finished Fat Quarter QAL top, and some outdoor cushions I made with this fab video tutorial technique. Couldn’t have been easier!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 25, 2012 5:36 am

    ah…….to be a little girl again and crawl around the dirt and grime and not worry about anything! NOT! haha………..well the carefree part sounds good but the dirt part….well…..
    Love your latest creations….thanks for sharing the cute boardwalk story………

  2. Lesley permalink
    April 25, 2012 6:49 am

    Your quilt is so beautiful…loved the story of the boardwalk …nice to grow up, isn’t it!

  3. May 17, 2012 6:56 pm

    When I hear the phrase under the Boardwalk I think of teenagers making out or the vapire seens from the movie Lost Boys, much less innocent than your sweet childhood memories. Very pretty quilt, Fig Tree is always so charming.

  4. September 23, 2012 8:12 pm

    Love, love, love this quilt! What is the name of the block pattern?? I don’t need a whole quilt pattern. I just want to make a block for a coffee coaster. Do you happen to know the name of the block pattern??

Leave a Reply

