Skip to content

Joining the Quilt Fest!

May 18, 2012

Hi All, I’ve shown off this quilt before, but I wanted to join in with the Bloggers Quilt Festival that is starting today, so I’m going to put up a new post about this little gem.
Corner
My Dresden Plate quilt started off as an experiment.  I wanted to stitch along in the Bunny Hill Scrappy Plate happening, but I wasn’t sure I had a good idea for one.  So, wanting to just try my hand at making a block or two, I got out my template and a charm pack.
Center template
Dresden Plate - wo Center French General Fa La La

I realized that if I pressed a charm in half I could cut 2 wedges out of each one.  So before I knew it I had enough from one charm pack for four pretty plates.  Then I put them on some big squares of plain fabric and realized what a great opportunity this was of free motion quilting some pretty wild feathers.
Progress 2
Close up Feather

Finally, I’d always wanted to make a scalloped border but had never done it.  I managed that too.  This quilt grew organically and was a real expression of me playing with my skills and tools and just having fun.
Corner of Backing
Full Scrappy Plate Quilt
I hope you like it!

23 Comments leave one →
  1. May 18, 2012 5:58 am

    I love everything about this quilt: the fabrics for plates, the border, the backing. And the scalloped border. Simple and beautiful quilt.

    • May 18, 2012 6:09 am

      Thank you so much for this lovely compliment!

      Sent from my Verizon Wireless 4G LTE DROID

  2. saleecash permalink
    May 18, 2012 6:23 am

    I do like your quilt. I have been wanting to try a stack n’ whack dresden plate but haven’t found a fabric I really love yet, but seeing yours maybe I’ll try a scrappy one. Thanks for sharing.

    • May 18, 2012 7:05 am

      Thanks so much!

      Sent from my Verizon Wireless 4G LTE DROID

  3. billiemick permalink
    May 18, 2012 6:38 am

    Wonderful quilt!

    • May 18, 2012 7:04 am

      Thank you!

      Sent from my Verizon Wireless 4G LTE DROID

  4. May 18, 2012 8:05 am

    Its a beauty Letty- Lovely lovely quilting and such a pretty color palette that you have chosen.. enjoy the festival..

    • May 18, 2012 8:09 am

      Thank you so much!

      Sent from my Verizon Wireless 4G LTE DROID

  5. May 18, 2012 9:12 am

    it is beautiful xx

  6. May 18, 2012 12:35 pm

    Very pretty – love the scalloped edges!

  7. May 18, 2012 4:44 pm

    very pretty! thanks for sharing with us.

  8. May 18, 2012 4:53 pm

    That quilting is so impressive!

  9. May 18, 2012 5:12 pm

    It’s so pretty! I wanted tod o that QAL but couldn’t quite get to it, your’s is just lovely.

  10. May 19, 2012 1:42 am

    fabulous! I now have an idea for some charm packs i have!

  11. May 19, 2012 4:10 am

    The piecing and then the quilting go together to make one lovely, lovely quilt. Beautiful!

  12. May 19, 2012 9:14 am

    What a fantastic quilt! I love how you experimented and played with techniques and they add up to a wonderful quilt.

    • May 19, 2012 9:52 am

      Thank you!

      Sent from my Verizon Wireless 4G LTE DROID

  13. May 19, 2012 9:42 am

    Beautiful so refreshing to see a dresden plate that isn’t pastel or 30/s
    Ann

    • May 19, 2012 9:58 am

      Thank you! I must say I love it. 🙂

      Sent from my Verizon Wireless 4G LTE DROID

  14. May 20, 2012 1:16 pm

    Gorgeous!! I need to do Dresdens! The quilting is wonderful 🙂

  15. May 20, 2012 3:40 pm

    Love your dresden plate quilt. Lovely fabrics and colors. Great quilting too. Thanks for sharing and have a great day

  16. May 20, 2012 9:20 pm

    Great job, has such a vintage feel. Very romantic.

    Come see my entries 64 (repro. applique) and 85 (antique appliques).

  17. May 22, 2012 6:33 pm

    Beautiful quilt! I love how it evolved! I, too wanted to join along on that QAL, but I’m not anywhere close to being done. Great Job!

Leave a Reply

