Skip to content

Color Admission and Pantone Update

September 14, 2012

Okay, after zillions of quilts that all share the same color palate, I’m ready to admit that I have an obsession with red, brown, and black.  There.  I’ve said it.  I just cannot get enough.  It is like food, I eat and then a few hours later I want some again!

The other day I went to place my Swoon quilt blocks out on the bed and noticed, A) they are the same color palate (almost), and B) they look so great on the zig zag quilt that I may need to rethink doing white sashing!

I adore so many colors.  Did you hear that Pantone has announced Spring and Summer 2013 colors?  Here is a great video to show you what is going on with that. CLICK HERE to go to Pantone and watch.

Don’t you love the way she’s carefully dressed and blocked with her binders to the left?!

I love several of these colors. Do you think I’ll be able to incorporate some in my newer quilts?  Will you?

Happy sewing!

-Letty

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 14, 2012 11:08 am

    Well if you have to obsess over colors you certainly picked some good ones! Your swoon quilt is awesome and I adore the little birdies in the upper left of your mosiaic.

  2. September 15, 2012 4:26 am

    I love all your colors, too, and the new Pantone line for next year is gorgeous! Although I have my ‘staples’, I tend to immerse myself in a new color group every so often, just to keep things interesting. BTW, I am working on a quilt using the same colors as the bottom center quilt in your mosaic 🙂

  3. billiemick permalink
    September 15, 2012 11:05 am

    These are my favorites as well. Love everything you’ve shown. I get excited with each new block, I think you call them swoon blocks, that pops up on flickr.

  4. September 17, 2012 7:28 am

    Your blocks are beautiful, Letty! I love the color combination. And thanks for the link to Pantone – very fascinating! I haven’t had to work in Pantone since my graphic design days, so it was kind of wild to see what they’ve got on their website. And, yes, I noticed how carefully (artfully?) the presenter was for the Spring collection! LOL

  5. Birdie Mills permalink
    September 17, 2012 8:18 am

    Remember, I have one of your first quilts: red, brown, and white. Remind me to show you next time.

    XXO

    Ma

Leave a Reply

