Skip to content

Chair Pillow Art

September 30, 2012

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I may be an artist. Well, yeah, I guess I am because I had to get something from my head to my hands or I couldn’t stop obsessing on it. Isn’t that ‘artisty’?

Here is my process.
1. Believe it or not I used PowerPoint and my mouse to freehand draw (on the computer) the Chairs. I chose my colors right on the screen and printed out my picture.
2. Then I turned my picture upside down on a lightbox to ensure when I traced the pieces on my Steam a Seam they were upside down. That is because you adhere the fusible to the back of your fabric.
3. Now I cut out all the little individual pieces of fabric. If you’ve never done fusible web appliqué, here is a great link.
4. I took the fabric that would be my pillow top and ironed fusible fleece on the back so that I would be able to have a quilted look to my applique.
5. Next I placed my drawing right side up on the lightbox. Put my fabric over that (yeah it was a tiny bit hard to see through because of the fleece but I still wanted to do it after fusing. You could do it before I suppose.
6. I placed all my pieces and arranged them just the way I wanted – then ironed them down.
7. Time to free motion sew /quilt. This was the most fun step of all.
8. I pieced a 9 patch block for the back of the pillow.
9. Put in a zipper closure and … Bob’s your uncle! Does anyone say that anymore? I love it.

Happy Quilting! oh and pillowing 🙂

-Letty

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 30, 2012 11:29 am

    You are definitelyt an “artisty” artist! This are so cute.

  2. September 30, 2012 2:53 pm

    Of course you’re an artist! Whether drawn on the computer or with pen to paper…they are your creations….and they’re wonderful 🙂

  3. October 1, 2012 9:04 am

    I think that it is totally awesome that you use Powerpoint for this!! LOL You are so creative – and on many levels! Go Letty!

Leave a Reply

