Skip to content

Part of These Gangs

October 21, 2012

Part of These Gangs

One of the most wonderful things about modern quilting is that so much happens online.  Communities of women sew, discuss fabrics, patterns, techniques, etc.  We share pictures of our progress and finished projects, and encourage each other toward our creative pursuits.

Right now I participate in quite a few of these micro-communities.  Here are a few that I love:

Vintage Block Quilt Along from Charise Creates

Here is my block for the first month:

Fab Little Pincushion Swap – This is a Flickr group here

I’m keeping my partner secret for a couple more weeks, but here is a sneak peak of what I made for her (note I’ve covered her initials just in case):

Sew Blues Bee

This is another Flickr group.  It works like this:  “Virtual Quilting Bee devoted to the color BLUE!  Our bee will run from May 2012 through March 2013. We will take December off! So–10 months of stitching.
Each month two Hostess Bees will send out fabric envelopes and each bee member will create one block for each Hostess Bees.”  I love how the women in these groups (and the occasional guy) care about each other.  It feels different to have many I don’t even know feel interested in me, my life, my art.

Many of you reading this will already know all about how this is and the amazing world that we share online.  However some may not.  Lately I’ve noticed that there can be a big division between current events knowledge in local quilt shops from what is going on in the virtual quilting world.  For instance, one of the biggest patterns in popularity recently has been Camile Roskelly’s Swoon.  It is a phenomenon with over 1,100 members doing this pattern together and sharing pictures online.  Yet, virtually none of the local quilt shop folk I’ve talked with about it have even heard of the pattern.  None seem aware of this gigantic Flickr group.

I love my gangs and have stopped resisting doing more and more QALs (quilt alongs).  I just want to be a part of it all and create as much as possible.  Oh I’ll mention one last group, though there are so many…

Random Sampler Quilt Along

This fun Quilt Along is hosted by the very talented Anita Peluso.  Turns out she lives near me and is in my quilt guild!  I haven’t met her in person yet, but will be soon since she’s teaching a class on EQ7 at my LQS (local quilt shop).  Here are my first couple of blocks for that group:

I hope you’re taking advantage of the wonderful inspiration, friendship, and resources available online!  Happy Quilting,

-Letty

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 21, 2012 6:53 am

    Letty, I agree about all the great opportunities for QALs online. It’s nice not to have to go out in the snow or rain to meetings, and there are so many irresistible patterns, you can be involved in several groups at once. I’ve also been surprised that the local shops are not familiar with what’s happening online in the quilting world, but they probably don’t have time!

  2. October 21, 2012 7:38 am

    That vintage block is amazing. I enlarged it on my screen, but can’t tell how you did that!!! Is the little pointed oval appliqued? I love it!

  3. October 21, 2012 8:18 pm

    I am trying to learn how to take advantage of all that is available on the net to learn, share, exchange etc. Somtimes it can be overwhelming-not enough hours in the day!

Leave a Reply

