Skip to content

What Shall it Bee?

March 28, 2013

honey honey2 honey honey

I’ve finished another top.  My Honey Honey quilt.  A free pattern that was created to highlight Kate Spain’s Honey Honey fabric line (not what I used, but it’s lovely). But I’m stalled about how to quilt it.  I came up with a great idea for quilting a grid of waves and tried it out on some scraps left over.  Looked great – but I realized that I wanted to use the fabric on the back as a natural grid – and I pinned from the top… so.  Do you think it is possible to take pins out as I go when they are underneath???  I’m pretty sure I can hear the needles snapping already!

I did quilt another quilt once, from the back, with an allover hexie pattern that was on the fabric I used to back it.  It worked beautifully to get consistent coverage.  Can’t remember if I thought about it ahead and pinned from the back or not!

The Honey Honey quilt has many yummy little ‘locations’, as I’m thinking of them; there are areas where scraps of fabric converge to make really wonderful groups.  Since there is a lot of color variation in this quilt, there are tons of different places for the eye to go.

This might be my fourth of fifth top that has not been quilted yet.  Do you see a pattern here?  I think it is very hard for me to choose how to quilt some tops.  I think I’ll love it no matter how I finish.

I’ll be sure to update you on my quilting progress! Happy Quilting,

-Letty

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 28, 2013 11:30 am

    What a beautiful quilt pattern, and I love it in the colors you chose. I just counted ‘in my head’ a dozen quilt tops waiting for the final step. I love them all, not sure what’s holding me up. I don’t know about those pins on the bottom….I asked another quilter friend and she’s not sure how it will work either. Hope you can work something out without totally repinning!

Leave a Reply

