Skip to content

Flickr Fracas

May 24, 2013

Modern MovementLike so many quilters, I use Flickr as a way to share our love of quilting.  We have groups, virtual sewing bees, we exchange links to tutorial videos, and cheer each other on in pursuit of our passion.  Recently Flickr underwent some radical, and seemingly, almost universally disliked changes – both to its format and to its  membership policies as regards pricing and features.  Since there have already been countless articles addressing the problems and potential implications for Flickr (and its members), I don’t want to add much to that conversation.

I will, however, say that those of us bemoaning the changes have a few principle concerns; first, that we are able to maintain the deeply treasured online friendships that we have formed, and second, that we are able to share our passion and interests in the same way as before.

What’s the answer?  I’m not yet sure.  It may well be a site called Ipernity.  A few minutes at this site will tell you that it is very similar to Flickr before the mess.  Many, many folks are immigrating.  I’ve set up my account there.  I’ll still be Lettyb and use the same profile pic as I did at Flickr in hopes that I can help people find me.  It will take me a while to get organized there, but seriously, friends, come find me!

And just so this post isn’t a downer, here are some lovely quitly pictures 🙂

Happy Quilting!

-Letty

Baby Pinwheels pattern from Moda Bake Shop DSCF1871

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 24, 2013 11:54 am

    Hi Letty,
    As you know, I have already joined Ipernity and it’s a breath of fresh air compared to the revamped Flickr. I hope, like you, that others will do some searching and check out this site.
    I love these quilts! The top one looks like one I’ve been formulating in my mind for a long time 🙂

  2. September 4, 2014 6:15 pm

    Attractive section of content. I just stumbled upon your weblog and in accession capital to assert that I acquire in fact enjoyed account your blog posts.

    Any way I’ll be subscribing to your augment and even I achievement you access consistently quickly.

Leave a Reply

