Skip to content

Sing!

August 5, 2013

Sing!

John Audubon Quote

John Audubon Quote

John Audubon was a very smart man. He knew a lot about birds, and nature, and life. His quote, that I’ve pictured here, encapsulates the idea behind my theory of crafting. You see, I’ve never been someone who was able to do things perfectly. Not anything! Yet I had a lot of dreams, desire, and playfulness in me. For many years the discouragement of not being able to produce anything really perfect kept me from doing fun things, and kept me from enjoying the things I did do.

Bird Panel Front Cheep Talk 2 ?????????? Mug Rug2
One day in my mid 30s I just plain got over it. I realized that I needed to give myself permission to make things and be creative even though I would likely never make anything perfectly. It’s a good thing I did because I was right – I’ve never made one single thing flawlessly. Yet I’ve spent countless blissful hours in the creative process, pouring out my ideas into reality, and loving a lot of the results. Quilting is something I wish I were able to do perfectly, but alas, like everything else I make mistakes no matter how hard I try.  Don’t get me wrong, I’ve improved a lot since my early days! Probably without serious progress I would have quit.
I think it is time – no matter where we are to do more singing!
Happy Quilting
-Letty

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Marion Knights permalink
    August 5, 2013 6:47 am

    Thank you for sharing our thoughts on perfection. It took me a lot longer to reach this conclusion. Now in my 60’s I can enjoy quilting and have yet to make a perfect quilt.

  2. August 5, 2013 7:11 am

    I love this post! Thank you for the encouragement. We all have a voice to be used so let’s use it!

  3. Birdie Mills permalink
    August 5, 2013 7:52 am

    Beautiful quote, important to remember so that we can keep on enjoying all that life has to offer. We each have much to offer too.

  4. August 5, 2013 8:21 am

    but dont you think that .. perfect .. is .. prfectly boring..? xx

  5. Blue.Ridge.Girl permalink
    August 8, 2013 3:11 pm

    I love this post Letty! Doing something for the sheer enjoyment of the process is so fulfilling!

  6. August 12, 2013 4:34 pm

    Sorry I’m so late getting here…I love this post, too! I always think it’s not about the end result so much as the process of getting there. Besides, for me it’s the little imperfecttions that give our work personality. I just love your birdie quilt 🙂

  7. August 17, 2013 9:56 am

    Love this post Letty! Permission to be creative is a very good thing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

