Skip to content

Got Stitches?

August 13, 2013

Got Stitches?

I buy a lot of white pillowcases and sheets, and although I like a certain kind, of course each set is slightly different.  I have a trick that makes my sets look really pretty, and helps me to keep them together.  Here is what I do;  after unwrapping the linens, and a hot wash, I use a decorative stitch on my sewing machine to put a band around the cases and sheet.

Close Gift Set On Bed Outside

Often I do white on white (not easy to photograph!) Even with colored threads the look is fairly subtle, but definitely enhancing.  It also assures that when they are folded and put in the linen cupboard they stay in pairs.

It’s fairly quick to do, and kind of feels like a treat!  A couple of new, and stitch-enhanced pillowcases is a super, quick, and always appreciated present too.

Hope you don’t mind this brief diversion from quilt focus!

Happy Stitching,

-Letty

10 Comments leave one →
  1. August 13, 2013 11:06 am

    Really pretty! That is a lovely gift idea!

    • August 14, 2013 7:24 am

      Thank you Lucy. You’re super ‘stitchy’, so you could whip these up in a minute!

  2. August 13, 2013 4:22 pm

    These look so pretty! Great way to dress up your plain pillowcases and a nice use of those seldom used decorative machine stitches, too. I agree, this makes a wonderful gift when you want something quick with a personal touch. I’ll have to keep this in mind.

    • August 14, 2013 7:25 am

      Thanks Diane. I do forget about these sometimes – but yes, what a perfect, quick, and not too expensive gift for a wedding shower, etc. Thanks for coming by!

  3. August 14, 2013 5:59 pm

    Lovely idea and pretty too!

    • August 20, 2013 5:58 am

      Thanks – It’s a super standby gift, but I’ll admit I do it more frequently for myself! 😉

  4. August 19, 2013 7:23 am

    What a great idea!

  5. September 29, 2013 7:07 pm

    Hi…thanks for stopping by Thistle Creek Cottage. I really need to update that blog of mine but I’ve been soooo busy I just can’t seem to get to it. Hopefully that will change soon. I just wanted to stop by and tell you that I too love white embroidered pillowcases (and linens). I’ve purchased some very nice ones over the last few weeks. Yours are just so lovely.

    Vee

  6. Terry permalink
    October 28, 2013 9:39 pm

    Letty!!! I remember you made me one:) it seems like a lifetime ago! I loved how special it made me feel.

    Love,
    Terry

Leave a Reply

