Skip to content

Mosaic Butterflies

August 23, 2013

Finished!

Instand pdf pattern download: pdf download http://www.craftsy.com/pattern/quilting/home-decor/mosaic-butterflies-quilt/62526

It’s hard to see the quilting I did. Used my Bernina 165, with no stitch regulator.  More info below.) So I thought I’d show you the drawing I did before I washed it.  I decided to make big fanciful dandelion leaves.  I also sneaked in a bird, some flowers, a dandelion head and an insect.  Here is how the marking looked:

IMG_0290Fini

IMG_0302 IMG_0301 IMG_0300 IMG_0299 IMG_0298 IMG_0297  Mosaic Butterflies IMG_0293 IMG_0294 IMG_0295 IMG_0296

I used Mark B Gone washout pens.  The batting is Warm and White and the thread is all purpose cotton.  I love the way it turned out.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

What are you working on this weekend?

Happy quilting!

-Letty

P.S. Pattern available in pdf download http://www.craftsy.com/pattern/quilting/home-decor/mosaic-butterflies-quilt/62526

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Jan Carlson permalink
    August 23, 2013 8:02 am

    I have always loved vintage quilts and I love how you quilt combines the mosaic patchwork butterflies with the embroidery on the white body of the quilt. I think it’s stunning!

  2. August 23, 2013 1:25 pm

    Letty, it is beyond magnificent! You must be thrilled with the final result after all the effort you obviously put into this beautiful quilt. I love the white space and striking butterflies, and your quilting does it proud! Thanks for all the views…I’m totally in love 🙂

    • August 23, 2013 6:14 pm

      Thank you. It means so much that you’re a sting supporter.

  3. Blue.Ridge.Girl permalink
    August 23, 2013 2:30 pm

    Oh Letty!! Wow just Wow!! This is so beautiful! The butterflies look like they are lifting right off the quilt. I agree with Jan’s comment above, the beautiful butterflies combined with the intricate quilting is stunning. You did good!

    • August 23, 2013 6:15 pm

      That’s so nice of you. I was hoping for that effect. mThank you so very much for your lovely comment.

  4. August 23, 2013 9:36 pm

    JUST Love it! Sharing, with a link back, on my page at http://facebook.com/sewfreshquilts. Congrats on a beautiful finish, Letty!

  5. August 23, 2013 9:45 pm

    Absolutely beautiful finish!

  6. August 25, 2013 8:35 am

    love it – so beautiful!

Trackbacks

  1. Mosaic Butterflies – Entry for Blogger’s Quilt Festival | Happy Dance Quilting

Leave a Reply

