Skip to content

Emergence & Quilt Therapy

October 13, 2013

Emergence

I’m not feeling creative right now.  So, what do I do (because obviously I want to sew!)  The answer is dive into a kit by one of my favorite fabric and pattern designers of all time – Joanna Figueroa at Fig Tree & Co.  I absolutely could not resist this Halloween Spools quilt kitHalloween Spools by Fig Tree & Co I want to own this quilt as much as I want to make it, so it’s perfect!

Well now that I’ve started on a happy note, let me tell you why I’m not feeling creative right now.  I did have a big spurt of creativity this year which led to me making the butterflies quilt and creating the pattern for it.  After mulling over the  theme of butterflies that I’ve been focused on all year, I believe I finally realize why it was so much on my mind, and part of my creative psyche.  My lovely, sweet, beautiful mama passed away a few weeks ago.

I can’t really go there.  I’d like to write a tribute, but I’m just not able to right now.  Here is a photo of her that I adore. Birdie Chin Up Clean copy

I see now that I’m entering a new phase of my life, and she too is a new creation.  I’ve cried so many tears; I cannot believe that a human can cry that much.  Yes, she lived a wonderful and long life – but I miss her so much.  While I don’t want to dwell on the sadness, I do see that my heart was being prepared for this new, different phase.  Isn’t it wonderful how the creative process of quilting can turn what is on our hearts and minds into a textile treasure.  Here is a photo I saw on Pinterest that captures that sentiment.Sign

So I’m hurting.  But quilting helps.  Soooo very many people have told me the same thing: “You’ll never really get over losing your mom, but it will get better.”, and I believe them.

In the meantime I have my gorgeous spools quilt in progress, and I’m thinking of this as yet another phase that I will wrestle with and emerge from.IMG_0301

Happy quilting,

-Letty

10 Comments leave one →
  1. October 13, 2013 7:33 am

    Dear Letty, I know they seem like empty words for something so big, a loss you will carry close to you for the rest of your life. Just remember the happy times and that you had this lovely lady in your life for so many years. Time will make it a bit easier, but life has changed.
    That’s a very sweet photo, it gives that quilt life, but anyone who has created a quilt knows it isn’t just fabrics and thread, it is a very important part of who we are, who we were at the time we created it.

  2. October 13, 2013 8:47 am

    Praying you will find the peace that passes all understanding. And that it may come to you, in some small part, through the piecing of your quilts. Thanks for sharing the photo of your mom. I see her strong spirit in her eyes and her facial expression. We will meet again!

  3. October 13, 2013 9:01 am

    It is always hard to lose our loved ones and a parent is particularly difficult. May you find comfort in the wonderful memories you have of your times together. On the days that are challenging, may you find yourself surrounded by people who bring you comfort and some joy to lighten your day.
    I loved the tree sign- I had not seen that piece on pininterest. Thanks for sharing.
    Warmest regards,
    Anna

  4. October 13, 2013 10:38 am

    You’ve written a beautiful tribute here. The photo, the quote, and the quilt!

  5. Jan Carlson permalink
    October 13, 2013 11:33 am

    Dear Letty, we are all so sorry for your loss. Though we knew your mom but a short time, we loved her and recognized her beautiful spirit and saw what a lovely person she is and will be forever in heaven. God bless you as you move through this loss and heal in your own time and way. The Spool Quilt is wonderful and I hope you enjoy the process of making it. Your blog is great! Lots of love, Jan

  6. farmquilter permalink
    October 13, 2013 2:56 pm

    I am so sorry you are having to deal with this awful loss. My prayers are with you that quickly get to the place where thinking of your beautiful mom brings a smile instead of tears. Quilting will help you to heal and I pray God will add His special grace to you.

  7. Monica Spicker permalink
    October 14, 2013 7:36 am

    My condolences on your very big loss. I lost my mother in 2005 and I don’t think a day passes that I don’t think of her, even now. Let grieving take its natural course. Quilting and other creative pursuits do help (as does the blogging and writing about her). From her picture, I would say she was a gorgeous woman with lots of charm and humor. Remember her that way!

  8. October 14, 2013 12:55 pm

    Dear Letty, take care|

  9. November 25, 2013 4:20 pm

    Dear Letty, Over a year ago I have found your blog (I was searching for quilting blogs) and I was following it as my time permitted. I just found out that “Birdie”, that beautiful and wonderful lady was your Mother. Through our church, I have known her for many years. She was an amazing lady, and she was always there to give me words of comfort when I needed it. Now days, every Sunday, I glance at the pew where she used to sit, and think of her. I think of her grace, her beauty and her warmth. I too, miss her very much.

    My prayers and thoughts are with you.

Trackbacks

  1. Mosaic Butterflies – Entry for Blogger’s Quilt Festival | Happy Dance Quilting

Leave a Reply

