Skip to content

Snowy Christmas Mantle Quilt

November 9, 2013

Here is a new work in progress.  And when I say new… I woke up in the middle of the night last night, er.. I guess this morning, and I made a sketch for an idea. It’s already taking shape!  I used fusible fleece to back it, and also used it for the snow.  It has a great puff and softness that looks just right to me.  I’m fusing the rest, and can’t wait to do the stitching to make snow and stars, etc.

Sketch closerSketch CloserIMG_20131109_131757_192IMG_20131109_131805_185IMG_20131109_131810_425IMG_20131109_131746_513     trying it on for size

I’m having such fun.  Planning on a scalloped bottom border with prairie points in between.  Kind of silly, but totally fun to make.  Reminds me of when I was little and I got a new box of crayons!

May your spool be endless…

-Letty

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Blue.Ridge.Girl permalink
    November 9, 2013 2:03 pm

    Letty I love your snowy Christmas mantle quilt! How sweet and cozy this is going to be…I’m so glad you are having fun working on it :o) I also very much like your red/white star quilt you have hanging above your mantle…did you make it, too?

  2. Cynthia T. permalink
    November 9, 2013 2:55 pm

    WOW! That looks wonderful! It does look like you have had a wonderful day! What an inspiration!

  3. November 9, 2013 3:18 pm

    Beautiful! I love the colors! The best ideas seem to come in the middle of the night. 🙂

  4. November 9, 2013 3:56 pm

    This is perfect with your white brick fireplace! Looks so cozy and comfy. I love the idea, and also the star quilt above. It must have fun to sketch and finish this in one day 🙂

  5. Jan Carlson permalink
    November 10, 2013 7:11 pm

    LOVE IT!!! No wonder Amelia is so creative and artistic! I can’t believe holiday time is already coming again. What a great way to ease into it…by making such a lovely mantle decoration in the spirit of the Season. All the best…

Leave a Reply

