Skip to content

Christmas Boutique Goodies to Make

November 22, 2013

It’s that time of year.  We need to make small gifts for friends, things for stocking stuffers, Christmas boutiques, and my guild has a boutique coming up.

I thought about what to make for a long time, and here is what I came up with for my favorites.  They’re small, fairly quick to make, and pretty universally liked!

Ear Bud Case

I’ve made a bunch of these, and everyone wants one! Super free tutorial and even better revised pattern here.

Zippered Ear Bud Case

Small Snap Purse

Shhhh… don’t tell anyone, but I carry one of these in my handbag with a few ‘seat covers’ in it.  Yes, I’m a bit obsessive that way.  We don’t need to discuss that further, but they’re lovely and light, so it doesn’t add any weight to my bag.  This is a folded cardboard pattern I bought at Ben Franklin.  But here is a link for  a very similar free tutorial.

Snap Purse 1

Snap Purse 2Rice Bag

Of course I love these.  Recently my husband made full use of one, and found it invaluable.  It isn’t easy to find a thing to make for a guy – so take note!  I wrote up a very inexpensive pattern for what I think is the best size and design. Mine has channels so the rice doesn’t go all in one lump, and a removable case for washability.

Rice Bag BowFloral Rice Bag in Chair

Fabric Corner Bookmarks

Haven’t made these yet, but I’ll make a pile for stocking stuffers and boutique.  Will display them in a big glass jar.  I’m pretty excited to have yet another way of using my 5” charms.  And talk about fast!  Here is the free tutorial.

fabric bookmark

I will be attending a sew-in with my guild and plan on making so many lovelies.  What is your favorite, quick boutique item?  To make?  To buy?

May your spool be endless,

-Letty

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 22, 2013 7:14 am

    All great gift ideas, Letty! You know I have one of your ear bud cases, and I love it! It also makes a perfect key chain and holds a few $$ and change. I’ve made your rice bag/cover and it’s a wonderful pattern, quick to assemble and clever with the channels. I can’t wait to try the snap purse and fabric bookmark corners. Thanks for all the links 🙂

  2. November 22, 2013 1:17 pm

    I really want to make some of those ear bud cases and they all look like great makes 🙂

  3. November 23, 2013 6:33 am

    Great gift ideas! Or even gifts to ourselves. We can’t live without our rice bags. 2 in the freezer & 2 for microwaving. I almost feel like sewing this weekend. 🙂

Leave a Reply

