Skip to content

UF–nO

March 30, 2014

UFO
U F–oh
UF–nO
UF–oh well

Pilllows and Swoon
Just sitting on my sofa (these are my colors, gold, red, black), and the dialog begins…

Angel: Letty’ you’ve got such beautiful projects in your sewing room that are nearly done. Quite a few completed tops that only need basting and quilting… wouldn’t you feel great about finishing some of those up? After all, finishing things seems to be the zeitgeist of this year’s quilt blogosphere.

Devil: Forget that, did you see the new fabric lines in the Hancock’s of Paducah catalog? How about you go pick some fabrics out – you deserve it!

Angel: You know, you’ve got so much stash fabric, let’s go on in there and pull a gorgeous color way for the Triangle QAL that The Sassy Quilter is hosting. That would be fun right?

Devil: You’re supposed to have 1/3 yard cuts for that. You don’t have any of those – oh sure you have 6000 fat quarters that you could get the triangles out if, but what fun is that?

Angel: hmmm… right, there are no 1/3 yard cuts, that’s true…
Letty: Okay Angel, I’m going to go take a look at the ‘ol stash and see what speaks to me…

Stash1 Stash2 Stash3 Stash4 Stash5 Stashmess

Hmmm… stay tuned for UF-No part two to see if my stash actually does speak to me.  The pics above are only my small pieces, fat quarters, etc.  I have a whole closet full of larger yardage just in case anyone thinks this is all I have to choose from. 🙂

May your spool be endless.
-Letty

 

 

10 Comments leave one →
  1. March 30, 2014 8:22 am

    I’m laughing my hiney off on this one. I can SOOOOOO identify with that Angel/Devil scene from Animal House. I thought I was the only one who played that scene over and over in my head before starting a project. LOL!

  2. Blue.Ridge.Girl permalink
    March 30, 2014 8:34 am

    Letty you are so funny! I enjoyed reading this, and agree with you that this is where we all seem to live.

    I am feeling so good about getting some of my UFOs finished. Participating in ALYoF is helping me to look at the limited amount of time I have and be realistic about what I can finish.

    In your fourth picture down is that Raggedy Ann legs I see dangling? If so, they remind me of my Ann & Andy set (picture on Flickr)

    Hope you have a joy-filled day 🙂

  3. March 30, 2014 8:51 am

    Haha. I can so relate to this!! Love your photos. Your new camera is getting some good use. 🙂

  4. March 30, 2014 9:05 am

    That is hilarious!!! I’m pretty sure you can ignore the devil talking since you definitely have enough fabric for triangles! 🙂

  5. March 30, 2014 1:58 pm

    Love this post, Letty! I think most of us can relate, and I have this angel/devil feud going on all the time lately. I want to run over and look at that triangle QAL….but then I should really quilt and bind some of those UF-OhNo’s in my sewing room. Decisions, decisions…..

  6. March 30, 2014 2:52 pm

    Enviable stash you have! I too have been on a FQ binge and cannot stand it if a pattern calls for more, sure you could make it work but that sometimes isnt as much fun. So I always buy more 🙂

  7. Inger permalink
    March 31, 2014 6:18 am

    Sew funny, Letty! Love your stash!

  8. March 31, 2014 7:29 am

    Oh, Letty! I have my larger cuts in a China cabinet and fat quarters everywhere else- from cookie jars to stock pots, fabric! I find that my stash is infinitely more chatty when I pick them up for individual attention but then a quilter must also do her part to spur on the economy!

  9. The Sassy Quilter permalink
    March 31, 2014 7:00 pm

    Haha, they are definitely talking:) Use me! They say. Hope you join in, would love to see what you come up with. Dont worry…I have tons of tops yelling at me too!

  10. April 3, 2014 12:05 pm

    Good post!! and I am in two minds, cheering on the angel or the devil ???

Leave a Reply

