Skip to content

Summer – Ready, Set, Sew!

June 27, 2014

Well I may have spoken a bit too soon about getting my mojo back. But it’s hard to say since I was working away at my, very distracting real job. But now I’m on summer break, and I’m already living in my sewing room!Post Card QAL Top

Yesterday I put together a top for the Post Card Quilt Along being hosted by Debbie at A Quilter’s Table. This is a blog I’ve loved forever. It was such fun to pull fabrics and just play crazy artiste’. I have learned that for me, it is the color and value that mean everything with fabrics, rarely the print itself is more important.

I also managed to finish the quilting and bind the little mystery quilt that my local guild was doing. We’ll be showing them off next week and I can’t wait to see what others did. My inspiration for the straight line quilting (not that I haven’t used it before) came from a fun Craftsy class that I bought. I think she does a great job of teaching it – but I sew on a Bernina, and if I didn’t, I might not be quite as happy with her technique since it relies a lot on the Bernina style of walking foot.Mystery Star Bound Mystery Star Bound_1

I’ve got a pile of UFOs that I’m determined to diminish this summer – but I won’t cheat myself of the joy of a new project here and there.  What are you planning for your summer sewing?

May your spool be endless,

-Letty

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 27, 2014 9:04 am

    Both projects are beautiful! Oh how I wish I could diminish my UFO pile. It just seems so hopeless.

  2. June 27, 2014 12:08 pm

    I love your postcards quilt, the colors are so beautiful! And the star is also one of my favorites. Like Anita, I’m trying to put a dent my UFO pile. I never give up hope, but just don’t know if I’ll ever get there.

  3. June 29, 2014 11:15 am

    Letty I just can’t seem to get myself to work on any sewing right now…not sure why. I have figured out that i just can’t stand having so many unfinished projects. Involvement in social media seems to really encourage new projects and if you are not a fast finisher (like me!) then it seems no one is interested in hearing about old stuff. Maybe I’m wrong about this, because I enjoy seeing people break out old projects to finish.

    I was interested to hear what you wrote about the Craftsy class. This class has been on my list of things to take. I don’t have a Bernina so now I’m a bit concerned that maybe it would not be as helpful as I was thinking it would be. I have a very basic Janome with a simple walking foot. The class is down to $29 now…maybe I’ll wait to see if the price is going to go down more and then take it.

Leave a Reply

