Skip to content

House Block ‘Fail’

July 7, 2014

housesThe other morning I got it in my head to make some little houses.  I messed around in EQ7 designing some that fit what I had in mind and printed out the block.  Then I went to my stash and miraculously found the identical colors of fabric that I wanted.  This was meant to be! -or not… I made a couple of blocks and felt pretty good about them, but then I decided to FMQ (this is shorthand for free motion quilt) them and… I don’t know… I don’t think I did that great  a job, and suddenly they didn’t look a bit like what I had in mind originally.  And then, my muse flew away!  So, I guess I have a couple of mug rugs?  Eh it was fun for a bit.  I love just exercising my creating bursts and whether they turn into ‘winners’ or not, well, the joy of making was still there!house1

May your spool be endless,

-Letty

 

 

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. farmquilter permalink
    July 7, 2014 8:32 am

    I don’t see what is “fail” about them or the quilting on the block…I like them! But I do understand the feeling of not having your vision magically come out in the fabric!

  2. July 7, 2014 8:57 am

    I think these are really cute Letty. Now you’ve piqued my curiosity as to what your vision for these houses are :o) You are so correct…sometimes little bursts of creativity just feel good. BTW, I think your FMQing looks really good :o)

  3. July 7, 2014 9:44 am

    Well, you know I love them, even if they don’t quite match your vision 🙂 I especially love the FMQ, too! But I understand when something doesn’t turn out as expected…I think we’ve all been there.

  4. July 7, 2014 8:08 pm

    They are cute. I totally get it. Some projects are just all about the “play” and not the outcome.

  5. July 9, 2014 10:56 am

    Not a fail! I’m amazed you found fabrics to match so perfectly 🙂

Leave a Reply

