Skip to content

Tinker Tote Confessions

August 2, 2014

Tinker Tote Bag_1Okay, well no one is going to accuse me of being prideful today.  I’m going to tell you the embarrassing truth about my Tinker Tote.  Yes, it came out cute, and I actually love it, but it isn’t supposed to be that shape at all.  I printed up the pattern which was VERY clearly marked with a fold line on one side, and when making the bag I put the fold on the other side!  Then I made my lining with the fold where it was supposed to be.  Now I have a finished bag and a finished lining that don’t fit together at all.  I was scratching my head and got so frustrated I had to walk away for a minute.  When I calmed down I finally tweaked to what had happened.  The outer bag looked so good I didn’t even notice that it was high in the middle and low on the outsides.  That’s not right! Google Tinker Tote and see all the zillions of pictures from people who did it right!

The lining was correct, low in the middle and high on the outsides.  No wonder they didn’t fit together!  Okay – so the obvious solution, since I’d already put on my hand painted linen flap, and used all my favorite fabric scraps, was to make another lining the wrong way – copying the mistake I’d made with the outer bag.  I did this.  It gave me an opportunity to use Tara Rebman’s (who does a marvelous job as the Craftsy instructor and pattern designer.  Don’t let my silliness lead you to any other conclusion!) method of putting in a zippered pocket a second time.  What a pleasure that is.  I got the class for $19 on sale, and that method alone was well worth the price!

I do love it, but I’m making another the correct way – except I have printed the pattern out at 70% so it will be a lot smaller, and I’ll leave out the stiff stuff.  So there you go – I’m a “dork burger” as my sisters called me, but I did still managed to get a pretty darned cute bag out of the process!

May your spool be endless,

-Letty

 

 

Linking up!

 

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 2, 2014 3:53 pm

    I truly love it, mistake and all! It is darling. I should invest in that class so I can learn to put in a zippered pocket better…I always sew a little crooked.

  2. August 3, 2014 12:08 am

    its not “wrong” .. its an inventive take on the original pattern .. therefore .. its an individual xx

  3. August 3, 2014 6:55 am

    I really like your bag version, too….just as much as the original! You certainly had beautiful scraps for this project, and I love that you were able to find the perfect use for your hand painted linen kitty. This bag really is large, glad you included that photo for reference. I can see wanting to make a smaller one to use every day. Thanks for sharing all your trials 🙂

  4. August 8, 2014 5:45 am

    Your finish is just fabulous, Letty! You made the best of an error and it turned out beautifully! Love the quilting. Can’t wait to see your smaller version of this bag!

  5. August 8, 2014 11:48 am

    Will you be writing a tutorial for this new bag design you have created???? Very cute.

  6. August 8, 2014 5:40 pm

    Sometimes it’s the mistakes that we love most! This is one of those cases, Letty. Great job! Thanks for linking up to TGIFF!

  7. August 10, 2014 6:55 pm

    Hope all of your mistakes turn out so well. Thank you for sharing your learning curve advice, so helpful.

Leave a Reply

