Skip to content

Bugs and Bags

September 21, 2014

Tomorrow I’m back at work after a lovely, long summer of sewing and relaxation. My husband says that in the summer I turn into a ‘one woman sweatshop’! I guess it’s true because I just love to make things. I go into my sewing room, put on the Netflix (I’m watching Last Tango in Halifax right now), and I’m in my happy place.

I’ve made a ton of bags this summer, finally finishing up one I am totally excited about. It’s the Everything in its Place bag by Annie which was from the same Craftsy Class called Sew Sturdy Travel Organizers that I took and made my travel organizer bag in. Her instructions are wonderful, but of course some of it was a bit challenging.

Here are photos of my finish. I’ve already piled it full of tidbits that I need for a Sue Spargo pincushion class I’m taking at a local quilt shop, with two of three of my best, lovely stitchy friends, Janet and Anita.

Everything Bagmesh pocket Everything Bagsmaller pockets Everything Bagvinyl pockets Everything Bagmesh zip pocket Everything Bagproject pouch Everything BagSode Everything BagOutside_1

In keeping with my sweatshop fever, I saw something I’d never seen before just this morning. It’s a German fad called a Leseknochen (which I am daringly translating as neck pillow). I found a template and tutorial here on Sew4Home, and whipped on up immediately! I put some fusible fleece in mine because I’m a bit princess and the pea about lumps, but none of the tutorials I saw did…

20140921_093708 20140921_093607

Unless I find something I MUST sew this afternoon or evening, I believe that concludes my summer of sewing. Bugs? Well I don’t want to horrify my regular readers with all the pics I’ve taken this summer, but if you want to see what I’m talking about you can check out my flickr pages for spiders. Let’s just say I have had my absolute fill of bugs, even though I know I still have a few bags on my to do list! Next one will likely be the Beetle Bag. My other lovely, stitchy friend Inger and I are going to team up on this I think.

May your spool be endless!

-Letty

P.S. I love comments, and always answer them via individual email 🙂

10 Comments leave one →
  1. September 21, 2014 9:34 am

    You know I absolutely LOVE this bag! It looks like the perfect way to get organized. I’m checking out that neck pillow, too. I have one that has lost it’s ‘oomph’ and I was going to restuff it, but I like this new shape. Looks like a dog bone, actually 🙂

  2. September 21, 2014 10:10 am

    Thank you for not putting spider pictures here!! The bag looks incredible and all those pockets are great!

  3. September 21, 2014 11:15 am

    You may be turning me into a craftsy freak! After seeing this cute bag on IG and your sweet replies, I immediately got this class by Annie and the tinkertote so I can learn zippers better. This organizer will be perfect for my upcoming swap partner I think. Did you get the finishing kit from Annie too? 🙂

  4. farmquilter permalink
    September 21, 2014 3:13 pm

    I love your Everything In Its Place bag!!! Totally wonderful and perfect!!! Thanks for the link for the dog bone neck pillow. I have one that is looking a bit ratty since I’ve had it over 10 years…may be time for a new one!!!

    • September 21, 2014 4:40 pm

      Thanks Sassy, I do love the bag! By the way, my husband checked out the pillow and immediately put in an order for one himself! ;D

  5. September 21, 2014 3:41 pm

    I love your “summer of bags”! So much fun you’ve had :o) This one is probably one of my favorites…such great organization. The neck pillow looks great and I bet it is nice supportive.

    Hope you have a great first day back to school tomorrow!

  6. Inger permalink
    September 21, 2014 6:56 pm

    Love this bag! I love your fabric! Can’t wait to make our new bags! Did you fill your neck pillow with just stuffing? I want to make one with barley husks!

  7. September 22, 2014 5:13 pm

    Your everything bag is so pretty!! Nice job!. 🙂

  8. September 22, 2014 5:14 pm

    And BTW, I am sad that the summer is officially over. I am not ready to get on the holiday bandwagon that starts in a month.

  9. billiemick permalink
    September 26, 2014 8:38 pm

    Great bag. Love all the other projects as well.

Leave a Reply

