Skip to content

The Happiness Advantage

January 13, 2013

People are about as happy as they make up their minds to be. ~Abraham Lincoln

Hello 2013!

Those of you who know me will remember that I don’t make ‘normal’ resolutions.  Seems like no one does anymore.  I guess we all figured out that they don’t work/last.  However, I do pray and ask to have a spiritual theme for the year.  Some years I feel as if I am getting my theme direct from the Man Upstairs, but often I feel as if I’m free to choose a bit.  That is how it went this year.  I decided that I want to be ‘content’ this year. I do believe old Abe was right.  We have to choose to be happy.  It isn’t a destination, but a by-product and a choice.  At least that is what I think.  Now I’m finding some great backup info on how choosing is part of it!
Isn’t he hysterical?  I’ll tell you, this guy’s list is simple and good.  He says do these things:

  • Count your blessings – 3 new things you’re grateful for  x 21 days in a row
  • Journal
  • Exercise
  • Meditate – focus, no multitasking!
  • Random acts of kindness – 1 positive email praising someone

Not hard, definitely worth a shot.  Here are two additions to the list for me:

  • QUILT
  • SEW

Honestly, when I’m in my sewing room, my dopamine is sky high!  Yesterday I made my big sister Mimi one of these lunch bags.  I did manage to make one for myself at the same time – hee hee

Nancy Drew Lunch Bag

Ayumi’s directions are perfect.  Find them HERE.

What will you sew to make yourself more content this year?

Happy and Contented Quilting!

-Letty

13 Comments leave one →
  1. January 13, 2013 9:02 am

    ooh! I like xx

  2. January 13, 2013 10:52 am

    That’s a great theme, Letty…something I need to work toward. Have a great new year!

  3. January 13, 2013 11:01 am

    I love that quote from Lincoln! Totes are super cute! Have a very HAPPY 2013!

  4. January 13, 2013 11:03 am

    Great Lincoln quote- I am sure he got that right- we do choose whether we are going to find happiness in this life..
    I love the Nancy Drew fabric- brings back some terrific childhood memories- I loved those books- read some of the Hardy boy books too.
    Thanks for sharing the tutorial link too.
    Regards, Anna

  5. Cynthia Taylor permalink
    January 13, 2013 1:36 pm

    What a cute bag! I have seen the fabric but wasn’t sure what to do with it. You have inspired me to make my dear friend a bag! Thank you so much!

  6. farmquilter permalink
    January 13, 2013 6:44 pm

    Where did you find the Nancy Drew fabric??? Absolutely adorable and the totes are the perfect venue for them!!! You did an awesome job on the totes!!! I choose to be happy 🙂

    • January 14, 2013 5:59 am

      Thanks for coming by the blog! I think I found my fabric at Pink Castle, but there are quite a few places that have it right now because it is pretty newly released. Glad you like it! I choose to be happy too 🙂

      -Letty

  7. Marianne Patterson permalink
    January 22, 2013 8:04 pm

    I am at last finding my way around in Facebook .
    The contentment theme is perfect.. When you are content you are grateful and that reminds me of also to be grateful for all the good already received..Live will be great when we practice to be content. Way to go Letti!

  8. January 25, 2013 1:26 pm

    Memories flowing, I loved Kitty when I was young, Lovely bag.

  9. January 30, 2013 6:47 pm

    I can tell you from firsthand experience the Happiness Advantage really does work! After reading the book it showed me a repeatable process I could use to teach the Happiness Advantage to others. So I started teaching it to my college students, and over the past year I’ve seen it turn peoples’ life around and even benefit whole families who adopted it!

    In fact, I’m so convinced it’s that good that I started a movement to give away The Happiness Advantage book to strangers as a random act of kindness. Through private funding and the small donations from strangers, we will give away 365 books this year (for FREE) and hope to double that number next year. This is my way of spreading the Happiness Advantage, and helping others with a desire to improve their lives. Check out the movement’s website and let us know what you think: ShareTheAdvantage.org.

    • January 31, 2013 9:35 am

      Frank, that is amazing and wonderful! Thanks for coming by, and thanks for letting me know.

  10. February 12, 2013 9:03 am

    I love that list of things to make you happy. I’m going to have to do that! I especially love the count your blessings and random act of kindness. Exercise is always awesome and I think I’ll be adding quilt on my list too! 😀 I don’t meditate much, but I do daydream a lot. Does that count? 😀

  11. October 31, 2017 2:40 pm

    I love Love Nancy Drew!!! I looked at the directions, did you make the inner drawstring or just as an open bag as the directions might change. Ive been looking for the book print material but not finding it!

Leave a comment